Selected National Awards

National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

Members are elected to NAE membership by their peers (current NAE members). Election to membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations.

National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Academy prizes recognize excellence in the sciences and the humanities and a commitment to the ideals of the Academy. Nominations are accepted from Academy Fellows only.

American Association for the Advancement of Science

AAAS Awards recognize scientists, journalists, and public servants for significant contributions to science and to the public’s understanding of science. The Association administers the awards listed below.

National Medal of Science

National Medals of Science are awarded by the President of the United States to individuals deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding cumulative contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, engineering, or behavioral of social sciences, in service to the nation.

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the President of the United States on America’s leading innovators. The medal is awarded annually to individuals, teams (up to four individuals), companies or divisions of companies for their outstanding contributions to America’s economic, environmental and social well-being. The purpose of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation is to recognize those who have made lasting contributions to America’s competitiveness, standard of living, and quality of life through technological innovation, and to recognize those who have made substantial contributions to strengthening the nation’s technological workforce.